понедельник, 31 октября 2016 г.

Pika, Yuji Katsui & Otomo Yoshihide - SUN・RA・NEW (2016)

Pika, Yuji Katsui & Otomo Yoshihide - SUN・RA・NEW (Telegraph Records, 2016)

Otomo Yoshihide: guitar, drums
Yuji Katsui: violin
Pika: vocals, drums, guitar

01 - Beat Around The Bush 
02 - Dayspring 
03 - Gate Way To The 6 World 
04 - Eclipse Field 
05 - Soldiers Get Up Before Dawn 
06 - Utauhito 
07 - Motosumiyoshi Powers 2

Live & Studio Recording
Album Tracks 3,6,7 Live Recorded at Motosumiyoshi Powers 2 /2014.4.21
Tracks 1,2,4,5 Recorded at Hattyoubori Nanahari /2014.7.30


And find in comments.

вторник, 25 октября 2016 г.

Hannibal Marvin Peterson - The Tribe (1979, released in 2013)

Hannibal Marvin Peterson - The Tribe (1979, released in 2013 at Kindred Spirits)

Hannibal Lokumbe
: trumpet, backing vocals
Paula Washington: flute
Art Webb: flute [alto]
Michael Cochrane: piano
T.M. Stevens: electric bass
Branice McKenzie: lead vocals, backing vocals
Pat Peterson: lead vocals, backing vocals
Diedre Murray: cello, arranged by [vocals], producer
Mensa Wali: percussion [african], trumpet [african]
The Drum Song Society: percussion
Billy Jabali Hart: drums

01 - Now Stand (6:25) - 128kbps, sorry!
02 - A Sacred Multitude (8:05)
03 - Returning To The Ways (5:49)
04 - Of Live And Love And God (9:23)
05 - The Tribe (14:30)

Long-treasured among jazz fans and record collectors, Hannibal Marvin Peterson’s unreleased album The Tribe is a sacred collection of blistering jazz assaults and deep reflective spirituals from Hannibal’s ten-piece group. The unreleased album is something of a holy grail among collectors, with only a handful of test presses ever made. Now 36 years later, it is ready to be officially released for the first time, and fans of Black Jazz and Strata East won’t have to shell out the $2000+ asking price for what is considered by many to be a lost treasure and one of Hannibal’s best works.

Originally recorded in a bid for John Hammond to hook them up with a major record deal, The Tribe session wasn’t picked up in the end. Unfazed, Hannibal had all but forgotten about it until a friend pointed out that copies were exchanging hands for big bucks on the Internet a few years ago. The towering Texan’s primary concern is to always get the music out to the people, and any label should facilitate that. His uncompromising view has lead to a few clashes, notably when his Children Of The Fire album was turned down because of the title, leading him to start his own label Sunrise Records. However, these disagreements also imbue his music with a certain strength, a purity, and a genuine artistic vision. “Once you change one thing, you’re changing things your whole life,” Hannibal says. “It’s like a lie: once you tell one, you have to tell a million more. I’m always looking to make sure that what I play is worthy of the people, and can help them through times of great tribulation.”

The five tracks on The Tribe fluctuate from propulsive ensemble stampedes supporting Hannibal’s wild solos, to peaceful dreamy hymns. ‘Now Stand’ opens the album, the rest of the group playing catch-up to Hannibal and Billy Hart’s trumpet and drum intro. ‘A Sacred Multitude’ and ‘Of Life And Love And God’ both tap into the deeper, contemplative side of things, Branice McKenzie’s sanctified vocal and Diedre Murray’s cello coming to the fore. ‘Returning To The Ways’ powers along with an uptempo charge not unlike Carlos Garnett’s ‘Mother Of The Future’, but it’s The Tribe’s title track that steals the show and closes the record. Kicking off in exuberant spirit, the track blends heavy riffs and chants with the kind of bluesy changes that characterize Harry Whitaker’s ‘Black Renaissance’, before ending in a foreboding metallic conclusion.

Hannibal’s formative years on his grandparents’ farm on the banks of the Colorado are partly responsible for his spiritual, humanistic attitude to music. When describing the Tribe sessions, he says “The Tribe is really like a wild river, like untamed stallions that haven’t been roped off. It’s one of the qualities that I love about it. When you think of stallions running, they build up this high blood. The leader of the stallions stands out alone and looks out on the valley, with a very quiet, stoic look… I love it. I have these images and qualities that I look for when I write a song, that make you feel this instinctive freedom that’s in us, that we have to always fight to maintain. That’s what the search of the inner world is about, that’s an endless search.”

The music on ‘The Tribe’ is a direct descendant of Hannibal’s grandparents singing in the cotton fields. “They didn’t sing to impress a critic or to make a hit record,” Hannibal concludes. “They sang to aspire and to stay alive. That’s why that music is timeless, and it’s as healing today as it was then.” Now that The Tribe is finally out in the wider world, it will surely be here to stay.


Simply the best!

In comments!

воскресенье, 23 октября 2016 г.

The Ägg - The Ägg (2013)

The Ägg - The Ägg (Found You Recordings, 2013)

David Stackenäs: electric guitar
Anton Toorell: electric guitar
John Lindblom: electric guitar
Patric Thorman: electric bass
Joe Wiliamson: electric bass
Vilhelm Bromander: electric bass
Raymond Strid: drums
Erik Carlsson: drums
Ola Hultgren: drums
Christopher Cantillo: drums

01 - Version Of An Event
02 - Teledeportation
03 - Lapse

Put three electric guitarists, three electric bassists and four drummers in one room all coming from the vibrant Stockholm scene of free improvisation, free jazz and art rock. Let them jam freely, lock in hypnotic grooves that loosely sound like Fela Kuti's Afro-beat bands or worse, like North Korean marching bands on acid, sketch noisy textures that brings to mind Captain Beefheart in its wildest psychedelic moments or the voluminous symphonies of Glenn Branca in its poetic passages and you begin to get an idea how The Ägg sound.

This conglomerate of sound is comprised of guitarists David Stackenäs, member of the experimental group The New Songs and Seval song-based outfits and close collaborator of sax titan Mats Gustafsson; Anton Toorell, member of the alternative, "tuba-techno/radio-pop" Invader Ace and John Lindblom, leader of the now defunct Swedish quintet Firehouse; bassists Patric Thorman, member of Seval, and collaborator of pianist Sten Sandell and saxophonist Fredrik Ljungkvist; Joe Williamson, close collaborator of Stackenä and Dutch saxophonist Tobias Delius; and Vilhelm Bromander; and drummers Raymond Strid, close collaborator of Gustafsson, bass master Barry Guy and many others; Erik Carlsson, member of Swedish Azz, with Gustafsson, Ola Hultgren, member of Thus:Owls and of vocalists Ane Brun and Torun Eriksen bands and Christopher Cantillo, member of vocalist Anna von Hausswolff band.

The three pieces feature The Ägg playing with chaotic abandon but also with commanding control. The massive sound erupts immediately, collide violently with intense, urgent noises and moves forward in huge, nervous waves then backwards with walls of dense, metallic sounds and a loose consistency and with no attempt to develop a a clear narrative of progression. Thety then disperse in space and soon begin to accumulate again till the next sonic climax. Slowly this complex, restless and mulch-dimensional sonic universe becomes clearer and more nuanced and attaches detailed colors and rhythms as it reaches the third and more reserved piece, "Lapse."

The Ägg offers a unique listening experience, deeply physical, often irritating but always captivating. [AllAboutJazz]


And try it in comments!