воскресенье, 14 мая 2017 г.

Amok Amor ‎– We Know Not What We Do (2017)

Amok Amor ‎– We Know Not What We Do (Intakt Records, 2017)

Peter Evans: trumpet
Wanja Slavin: saxophone
Petter Eldh: bass
Christian Lillinger: drums

1. Pulsar (Peter Evans)
2. Body Decline (Petter Eldh)
3. Brandy (Petter Eldh)
4. Alan Shorter (Peter Evans)
5. Trio Amok (Christian Lillinger)
6. Enbert Amok (Christian Lillinger)
7. The New Portal (Peter Evans)
8. Jazzfriendship (Wanja Slavin)
9. A Run Through the Neoliberalism (Christian Lillinger)

You are gonna love this quartet", writes American journalist Kevin Whitehead. "This quartet was preceded by the Starlight trio of the Berlin players Christian Lillinger, Petter Eldh and Wanja Slavin, but Peter Evans is obviously a full partner in a new band. He brought some prime material, and shows uncanny range. His improvising is airy and abstract, tuneful, and tinged with the blues. His lines and Slavin's can be disarmingly lovely; the blend is bright and fizzy. 
The rhythm section is earth to their air: the nutty precision of abstract beat music echoes in Eldh's eloquent stutters and way of covering highs and lows in a single line, and in Lillinger's clarity at high speed; his sticks on snare can sound like dried peas poured on a metal sheet, every stroke distinct.
Yeah, they're all great, but this music is about how they come together, showing creative tradition some crazy love: amour run amok. [Kevin Whitehead]


And find in comments!

четверг, 9 марта 2017 г.

Brom - Lump Sugar (2017)

Brom - Lump Sugar (TOPOT, 2017)
Anton Ponomarev: baritone-saxophone
Dmitry Lapshin: double-bass
Yaroslav Kurilo: drums

01 - Stone
02 - Swamp
03 - Vortex
04 - Finger by Finger
05 - Der Schirm
06 - Omlette
07 - Heartsease

The Moscow TOPOT (ТОПОТ) label proudly presents no-jazz trio Brom and their fourth album “Lump Sugar” (“Рафинад”). It is not once that the band became softer and louder, twisting and turning from wild jazz-core jams to even faking a “blues” duo. Today Brom exists in a form of classical trio – Dmitri Lapshin (bass), Anton Ponomarev (saxophone) and Yaroslav Kurilo (drums). 

“Lump Sugar” was live recorded just like that. Lapshin and Kurilo provided perfect, precise rhythm section. It even seems that these two are brothers of the whole blood. Lapshin’s bass splendidly drowns and sets the vivid pulse again through dashing and neat part of Kurilo. Ponomarev plays violently, in style and tragic – like there ain’t no tomorrow. The album is expertly mastered and blessed by Venezuelan sound-engineer Leonardo Perez – it never sounded that crystal-clear. 

In “Lump Sugar” Brom reached the highest point of harmony and clarity in melodies. Therefore, Brom trio shows the best image of Russian experimental jazz: it’s them who blend together wild hard-bop and cock strong North-European improv, creating new Moscow jazz standards.

Yo! This one is from my own label! Listen up!
Download it for free, just name your price: https://tawpot.bandcamp.com/album/lump-sugar