четверг, 9 марта 2017 г.

Brom - Lump Sugar (2017)

Brom - Lump Sugar (TOPOT, 2017)
Anton Ponomarev: baritone-saxophone
Dmitry Lapshin: double-bass
Yaroslav Kurilo: drums

01 - Stone
02 - Swamp
03 - Vortex
04 - Finger by Finger
05 - Der Schirm
06 - Omlette
07 - Heartsease

The Moscow TOPOT (ТОПОТ) label proudly presents no-jazz trio Brom and their fourth album “Lump Sugar” (“Рафинад”). It is not once that the band became softer and louder, twisting and turning from wild jazz-core jams to even faking a “blues” duo. Today Brom exists in a form of classical trio – Dmitri Lapshin (bass), Anton Ponomarev (saxophone) and Yaroslav Kurilo (drums). 

“Lump Sugar” was live recorded just like that. Lapshin and Kurilo provided perfect, precise rhythm section. It even seems that these two are brothers of the whole blood. Lapshin’s bass splendidly drowns and sets the vivid pulse again through dashing and neat part of Kurilo. Ponomarev plays violently, in style and tragic – like there ain’t no tomorrow. The album is expertly mastered and blessed by Venezuelan sound-engineer Leonardo Perez – it never sounded that crystal-clear. 

In “Lump Sugar” Brom reached the highest point of harmony and clarity in melodies. Therefore, Brom trio shows the best image of Russian experimental jazz: it’s them who blend together wild hard-bop and cock strong North-European improv, creating new Moscow jazz standards.

Yo! This one is from my own label! Listen up!
Download it for free, just name your price: https://tawpot.bandcamp.com/album/lump-sugar